The Joys (& Challenges) of Raising (Little) Girls

The Joys (& Challenges)-1

I had planned for this blog post to be all about how to plan a simple toddler party. However, as we know, life doesn’t always go according to plan. In this case A. No one showed up for the party (the unfortunate part of having a birthday so close to a major holiday) and B. Daphne threw up…all…afternoon.

I don’t have any sons, so I don’t have anything to compare to, except the testosterone dominated house that I grew up in. I have always wanted to have a daughter, and I’ve been blessed to raise two! Here’s what I love about being a mom to little girls:

The joy: Sass. On our way inside work, one of my middle school students held the door for Melody & I. I said, “Thank you dear.” To which Melody replied, “Mommy, she’s not a deer.”

The challenge: Channeling that sass. It does get old at times.

The joy: The fashion. Fashionistas. Need I say more? What’s more fun that shopping for yourself? Shopping for a miniature version of yourself!

Toddler Fashion

The challenge: At two years old, Daphne often tells me what she doesn’t want to wear what I’ve picked out.

The joy: Teaching them self respect.

The challenge: Countering oversexualization.

Joys: Reliving all the girly things I loved as a child. This is even better because all the 80’s movies and toys are making a comeback! (Pound Puppies, Care Bears, Strawberry Shortcake, Baby Alive, Cabbage Patch Kids, Puppy Surprise)

Blackbird

Challenges: Spoiling too much. It’s easy to give your children the world. I want them to be grateful and humble for the things they have. If I don’t allow them to work hard for anything, they won’t value the things I give them.

The joy: Watching them grow into independent, intelligent young ladies.

The challenge: As much as it brings my heart joy to watch my girls grow up, it also brings me pain to know that as each year passes by, they aren’t babies anymore.

What do you enjoy about being a mother of a daughter?  If you are raising a son and a daughter, what do you notice is different?

4 thoughts on “The Joys (& Challenges) of Raising (Little) Girls

Leave a Reply

