disney on ice

Disney on Ice: A Review

I’m not sure who was more excited about Disney on Ice, me or my daughter. I kept it as a surprise; partly because I wanted to see her excited face, and partly because she’s four, and I know she would ask me about it every second until the day arrived.

The venue was at the Civic Center in Savannah, Georgia. As soon as we walked in, it looked like Disney World had exploded. There were photo booths set up, snowcones for sale, along with a plethora of Disney stuffed animals, cups, spinning toys and figurines.

disney on ice

Mickey Mouse was the main character, and narrated most of the show. The iceskaters were talented and performed several tricks. My daughter enjoyed when the Disney princes would flip the princesses upside down, or carry them on their shoulders.

I was also impressed to see the characters do wardrobe changes, and the set changes were impressive as well. I knew my child was enjoying herself because she asked where Mickey Mouse was during the intermission.

disney on ice wardrobe changes

We purchased a spinning Minnie Mouse toy ($20) and a hard plastic Minnie Mouse ($16). After the show, she asked when would could watch Mickey again. Good sign right?

If you would like to go to a Disney on Ice show, here’s what I would recommend:

  1. Print your ticket ahead of time. That way you won’t have to stand in a long box office line.
  2. If you want to purchase a toy for your child, do so before the show begins. After the show, it is pure chaos at the booths. There are also families arriving for the next show.
  3. Bring your own snacks. Even if you want to purchase the snacks they provide (popcorn, dippin’ dots, snow cones, pretzels, etc), it will save you a little cash.
  4. Bring cash. I’m sure some of the kiosk’s accepted cards, but I prefer to bring cash to events just in case they don’t accept a card.
  5. Carry one large bag as opposed to several large bags. I struggled a little with my camera bag, purse, and the bags full of items we purchased.

bring your own snacks

If you’re thinking about attending a Disney on Ice show, I recommend going! You won’t be disappointed. If you have been before, what were your favorite elements of the show? What else would you recommend to make a smooth trip with your kids?

2 thoughts on “Disney on Ice: A Review

Leave a Reply

