mixed chick hair whisperer

Mixed Chick Hair Whisperer

mixed chick conditioner

Now that I’m natural, I have a newfound confidence that I can’t explain. It’s kind of exciting that my hair enters the room before I do and incites conversations. Now that I have conquered the curls on my head, I have become the curly girl, with curly haired baby girls. I like to think of myself as the mixed chick hair whisperer. 

It has been trial and error figuring out what works in my hair, and so it made the journey with my girls a tad easier. Melody has the texture of white hair, but the maintenance of black hair. Since I’m a product junkie, I don’t feel so bad when a product from my Onyx box or Birchbox doesn’t work in my hair. I try it in her hair, and if it doesn’t work, then my friends get lucky when I pass products on to them. Right now my staples for her are Kinky Curly Knot Today Detangler and NuNaat Garlic Leave in conditioner. Her hair gets frizzy by the end of the day at PreK, so I like to use Cantu for Kids Curling Custard or Curly Kids Gel Moisturizer for some extra hold when I pull her hair up into a ponytail or just a simple wash and go. Here are a few tips to help when styling a biracial child’s hair:

1. Understand that Biracial actually means multiracial. Don’t make assumptions about the hair. The gene pool is an interesting place to be. Just because the child is mixed with two races, doesn’t mean that their hair isn’t infused with all the other genes in their bloodline.

2. Detangle, Detangle, Detangle (while wet). I cannot say this enough. Curly hair loves water. Never try and detangle curly hair while dry (ouch!!) Often naturals talk about finding a conditioner with good slip. Slip means that the conditioner aides in detangling and glides through the hair.

3. Wide tooth combs are a must. Wide tooth combs assist with detangling.

biracial hair care.jpg

4. Night time routine. Curly hair tangles easily. At night, braid hair, put in a pineapple (basically a high pony), or sleep with a satin cap.

5. Find a good conditioner (leave in and wash out). Naturals talk about co-washing. This basically means washing hair with conditioner instead of shampoo. I still love the way shampoo cleanses and makes my daughters’ hair feel clean, but there are several days in the week when I simply co-wash.

6. Don’t fight the curl, embrace the curl. I have heard of many women who are at a loss with their daughter’s hair. (mainly white women raising biracial girls with predominantly black coarse curls) Find products that make the curl do it’s thing naturally instead of finding ways to straighten it. When you find a good conditioner, the curls will respond by spiraling. 

7. Add gel. Adding the right gel keeps the curls from frizzing out of control and maintains the soft texture. The wrong gel will flake and make the hair hard. My favorite is Shea Moisture Curling Gel Soufflé.

gel.jpg

8. Don’t be afraid to experiment! What works for one person, will not necessarily work for your child. There are a ton of products on the market and it’s often hard to make a decision. Check out Youtube for videos and tips. Beauty by Lee is a great one to follow.

9.  Subscribe to beauty/hair boxes. There are several companies that make monthly boxes that include a variety of products in full and sample sizes. This allows you to try different products for $25-$30 a month without going broke buying a ton of products that don’t work. CurlBox, Onyx Box**my personal favorite, Curl Kit, CocoTique.

onyxbox.jpg

10. Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize. Try a good deep conditioning once a week. I love Crème of Nature’s argon oil line. I’m also a fan of Aussie’s 3 minute moisture. Thanks to my subscription boxes, my list of favorites continues grow. 

So, curly girls…What are your favorite products? Have you found a routine that works that you’d like to share?

XOXO

Diedre aka Mixed Chick Hair Whisperer

19 thoughts on “Mixed Chick Hair Whisperer

  1. Misty says:

    Hey girlie!

    I’ve found a very nice Gel for my crazy multiracial curls. It’s called LA Bella Lots of Curls. It’s alcohol free and doesn’t leave nasty residue. It’s only $3.00 at CVS! This is the first time I’ve worn my hair curly and haven’t had it frizz in an hour!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabiola says:

    My kids are not biracial, but two of them have very curly hair. My toddler daughter is the curliest of them -her hair looks like your youngest daughter’s hair- and I had already discovered several ways to comb her hair which you mention here. But your tips are great, I’m going to try them on her. Thanks for posting this!

    Like

  3. bcheekeen says:

    Where was this post 15 years ago?!? My little niece, who is biracial, came to stay a few weeks with us by herself when she was two. That poor little thing! I had no idea what I was doing! She seems to have still turned out fine in spite of my ill fated efforts.

    Like

  4. Christen says:

    I love this I tried coconut oil in my son’s hair last night. He has this problem spot in the back of his hair that is always tangled and this morning no frizz! Since we give baths at night it makes curly maintenance even harder for our kidos. There hair isn’t long enough to braid or pony (2 yrs and 10 mo) satin cap wont work any tips?

    Like

    • dacounsel says:

      Yes, I suggest using kinky curly knot today detangler right after bath or cantu moisturizing curl activator cream. If you don’t give him a bath every morning, invest in a spray bottle and spray that problem area & reapply the detangler or curling cream. My baby girl’s hair isn’t long enough to braid & she wakes up with a tangled spot too. The right shampoos & conditioners will help too. I’m going to be adding product reviews to my page too, so stay tuned!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Krystal says:

    Loving your blog! I am also a naturalista with a mixed race little girl. Her hair tangles super easy so I do protective hairstyles 90% of the time. Cool braids etc. We co wash and shampoo rarely like if she’s been to the beach or pool for eg. Her hair is super long and she refuses to get it cut. 😭😭 Looking forward to following your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

