Pool Induced Sleep

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Pool induced sleep…

This past week has been very eventful. I don’t even really know where to start! We had a birthday, family pictures, pool time, and the rest is really a blur. So let’s start with the weekend..

DSC_0043

The girls and I traveled two hours away to visit my parents. We haven’t been all summer, and the beginning of the school year is quickly approaching. I got to do some running around Friday and Saturday without the girls and I got to spend some one on one time with my baby brother. My mission was to find some back to school clothes. I found a pair of shoes, a dress, lunchbox organizer, bathing suit, necklace & a new tervis tumbler.

IMG_7734

Of all the things I bought, I was most excited about my peacock designed Tervis. I’ve indulged in some bad habits this summer which has resulted in weight gain. One of my goals is the turn that around and the Tervis will help me do just that. Our principal purchased a chewy ice/water machine as a wellness initiative when she came to our school, so I plan on drinking at least 1 Tervis full daily. That doesn’t sound like much to some, but I don’t love water, so I’m starting small. A friend of mine started a group on Facebook with recipes, motivational phrases and videos about getting in shape. I’m feeling very inspired because all of my friends are trying to eat better, live better and get in shape.

IMG_7676

The rest of the weekend was spent at the pool. I debuted my new bathing suit. I haven’t felt comfortable wearing one since I had Daphne. This is another reason for my wellness iniative. I finally found one that highlights the good and hides the bad! The girls had a blast! And my plan worked just like I wanted it to-they were so worn out from the pool, that they went to bed without a fuss both nights. In fact, they both slept the entire two hour ride home-they woke up literally one minute away from home.

IMG_7483 IMG_7625

I’m headed back to work on Friday. It just doesn’t seem right to have to return to work when the sun is still blazing and there are still tv shows from the fall that I haven’t caught up with yet. I had plans to organize my house and get back in shape this summer, but didn’t accomplish everything I’d set out to do. I’d love to get to a point where everything in my house has a place. I feel like such a clutter bug some days! I wonder if anybody else feels like that. It’s been better this summer because I’m not rushing here and there, but it’s still tough. If I’m in the middle of the dishes, the baby is tugging on my leg telling me she needs to pee-pee (and she is self potty trained so I feel obligated to take her on demand) or the girls start fighting and I suddenly have to become the referee. My other excuse is that I’ve been pretty lazy this summer! I’ve tried to balance quality time with my kids and hubby, projects and good ol’ lounge around time. The older I get, I find myself focusing on what’s really important-family. I don’t want to spend all my time cleaning and organizing and then my kids grow up and leave home.

This week is jam packed with last minute appointments. I’m excited about tomorrow. I’m getting some color to go along with my new cut. I can’t wait to show you!

How is your summer going? What do you enjoy most about the summer?

2 thoughts on “Pool Induced Sleep

Leave a Reply

