Cue the Nostalgia…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This has been an amazing weekend! My oldest daughter will be 4 tomorrow and I’m feeling anxious for some reason. I think my mind is taking me back to how I felt the night before her delivery. She was a planned C-section because she was breach. She flipped once in the middle of the night (facing head down), then figured snuggling under my ribs was much more comfortable, she flipped back. But more of this to come in my post later this week after her actual birthday.

6-5-11 (10)

My plan this summer was to get back in shape. In my single days, I would hit up the gym 3-4 times a week enduring a combination of Zumba, Kickboxing and a little Yoga. Fast forward 6 years, and  I’ve got the hustle and bustle of commuting to work 40 miles one way, picking up children at my mother in law’s after work, cooking dinner, getting kids ready for bed, mixing in a load of laundry or two and maybe catching up on a t.v. show if I haven’t passed out of the couch. The joy of the summer is I don’t really have to be anywhere at any certain time. My fellow educators understand what I mean! With that being said, the end of the summer is slowly creeping up on me, and I’ve vowed to do better. I’m starting with breakfast-making myself breakfast for champions-eggs with onions and spinach. Surprisingly, the baby likes it too! I never imagined that it would be this difficult to get going again-I’ve had a love affair with the gym since I was about 20 years old. Now I understand the true meaning of the word juggle.

IMG_7159Not only have I been eating healthy eggs, I’ve thrown in some bacon. Okay, not so healthy, but at least I know where it’s coming from. My hubby works for Hunter Cattle Company and I am thankful that we get to eat food from animals that are being treated humanly and aren’t being pumped full of hormones. My husband has talked about eating like this for years, and I thought he was just being a new age hippy. Now I know that it’s important to know where your food comes from! I promise, bacon will just be a cheat every now and then.

IMG_7163

I spent all Saturday morning cleaning and straightening. I did a lot of laundry, but most of it ended up in a huge pile on my bed. I would’ve liked to have folded it all, but my dear sweet daughter kept fighting and squealing.Not screaming, squealing. Have you ever heard Mariah Carey hit her highest octave? Now you understand what I mean. I don’t understand where they got those lungs from, but I sure hope they  both sing soprano in someone’s choir someday. I try not to yell so much, my mom has told me numerous times to try and foresee the problem so I can solve it before it happens. Yes, and the many parenting books I’ve read have given great advice too-you can check my books for the highlights. However, in the spur of the moment, me yelling back gets a temporary fix. I’ll calm down..one day…

IMG_2416

We didn’t have a big kiddie party like we’ve had in the past. Now that I have another little person running around, I don’t feel like entertaining as much. We just had family and 2 of my close friends-that was perfect. Melody has been asking for an Ariel (Little Mermaid) party for several weeks, so that’s what we had! We ate, laughed, talked and had a good time. It was low key and there were no tantrums! Fights, yes, but no tantrums.

IMG_7454

We had to throw a little Minnie Mouse in there too of course. Melody had a mermaid dress and wig-my friend and I had fun trying on the wig until it got knotted up-hey, it was only $7. You get what you pay for right?

IMG_7315

All in all we had a great time. Her official birthday is Monday and I can’t wait to walk down memory lane again. It’s so surreal to me to be a mom to a 4 year old. When did that happen? I’m not sure, but it’s been quite the adventure! How do you celebrate birthdays with your kids?

Leave a Reply

